Three Day Break

Having to take seven days holiday during the winter months can be a bit of a pain, as the weather is not always kind and is always unreliable. Unfortunately we both have different work patterns meaning I always get more days holiday, as I have to work bank holidays and I don’t get every weekend off.

I don’t tend to do anything special as I’m on my own, so these days are normally spent gardening, cleaning or tidying or just sitting around watching television.

Last Monday was fairly pleasant, so while my wife worked from home, I decided to get out into the garden. I had two new pots to plant up and plenty of pruning and cutting back to do and I even managed to cut most of the lawns, though it was well saturated in places.

When we lived in Silver End, I had plenty of creative ideas and drive, but now we have moved to a house near Braintree that doesn’t as yet have a boundary fence, the drive has wained a little, so I just stick to cutting the lawn and planting in pots.

On Tuesday there was very little sunshine, so I spent most of the day indoors. I watched two episodes of Inspector Morse first, then got to work, tidying up in the house, sorting the laundry before heading upstairs to decorate the bathroom.

Living in an old house, it’s fairly cold and it does suffer from damp in certain parts of certain rooms. In the bathroom above the window for example, there always seems to be condensation and it had gone, slightly discoloured.

We had some anti mould paint in the cupboard and this seems to have done the trick, although we are now thinking about changing the colour scheme,too.

Wednesday, was a restful day, it began early watching “A Picture of Britain” narrated by David Dimbleby.

Afterwards I felt a need to go out, so I grabbed my camera donned some clothes and headed out looking for daffodils.

I hadn’t got far when I saw some near the village hall, I ventured on going around 5 miles in a round trip that encompassed Blackmores End, Beazley End and Bocking before returning home and shooting some daffodils. Back to work tomorrow, just for two days then we’re off to the Isle of Wight for three.

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started